In My Food?

fresh produce

Fresh Produce Grown In The Garden

Mother has decided that not only should people have knowledge and understanding of Homeopathy and other Natural Remedies, everyone should also know about the food they eat.  What is IN the food, what WAS in the food that is not anymore, what was DONE to this food to produce it, and WHERE did this food come from, are all valid and important issues that it would be nice if you knew about the food you are preparing to eat, BEFORE you eat it.

What I mean to say here is that, you do know not to eat things that are poisonous.  So why not know all about the other things you consume as sustenance and consider good for you, because maybe they are not.

Over the years that other people have been producing our food for us, there have been many, probably too many, changes in the way food is prepared, grown, or produced.  That is not even to say anything about the shipping processes and the packaging products that companies use to get them to us.  You must admit, we do not know most of what goes on in those processes.

chocolate by Godiva

I Do Love My Godiva Chocolates

What do you really know about any of these subjects? And yet you still just go to the store and buy whatever says tomatoes or grapes, canned food, prepackaged food, or even ground beef and eggs, without asking.

However there are other people who are intent on knowing what is in the food they are paying for and read everything posted on the labels.  But do we really know if that says it all?

There are amounts of stuff allowed to be put in canned food that should not be eaten.  For instance, there are allowable amounts of bug parts and rat hairs in canned food.  When I first learned this I did not eat anything out of a can for many years.  I would can all of my food if I could.  These are things that happen in the process of canning the food that, even in parts per billion or whatever they are using, really does not belong in there.  But they are in there.  And we eat them.

chocolate being made

Chocolate Being Made

I remember when I learned that many people allergic to chocolate are not allergic to the chocolate at all.  They are allergic to the bug parts and rat hairs that are in the chocolate from the process of making it. I remain in search of good, clean, organic chocolate from Europe or a company that I trust.

Some of us have made such a stink about this subject, that now some store owners will often post that these vegetables come from other countries, or they were grown in the United States. However, once again I ask, what do we really know about the processes they use in the United States today?

chocolate milk

Chocolate Milk

This year I read in the news about our government raiding companies that sell raw milk and shutting they down.  Why is that? And what is wrong with raw milk?  Why are these companies selling raw milk in the first place?  Why does milk supposedly have to be pasteurized today? Do you know?  Because I realized that I did not know the answer to those questions myself.  So I began to find out.

Former Director of Greenmarket, which is the largest group of farmers’ markets in the United States, and author of “Real Food and Real Food for Babies” Nina Planck, says raw milk is safe, providing you find a scrupulously clean dairy.  She says you should buy your raw milk from a dairy where the owner drinks his own milk product.  Planck says that during the Industrial Revolution there were some poorly run dairies with improperly farmed cows with poor hygiene, who when fed Whiskey mash left over from distilleries instead of grass, produced contaminated milk.  When it came to the collapse of hygiene with his industry, “Instead of re-examining and reinstituting traditional farming practices to circumvent deadly pathogens, the government opted for pasteurization” Planck says.

Cocoa Bean Growing Live

Cocoa Bean Growing Live Is What Chocolate Is Made From

We get Salmonella and E. coli poisoning from many other farming industries but these methods are still being used.

So who do you believe? There is much discussion and many different views on this subject and I am certain on most of the other ones too.  I guess you have to decide for yourself which route to go, about the milk.  By the way, there are only 39 states in which you can legally still make that decision for yourself.  The other states have already outlawed raw milk. But this brings us back to learning for yourself.  Maybe we should learn about these subjects before that decision is made for us by our lawmakers.  

What is in our food that other people make a profit on today?

bananas in tree

Banana Tree

From my education and my working experiences in labs with bacteria and viruses, I would definitely recommend washing all my fruit and vegetables with soap and water, or something similar used for the same process, before cutting them open to make certain all of the E. coli, or other bacteria that just might be on it, is gone.  Certain produce is supposed to be put into a percentage solution of bleach water when they are picked, but sometimes the solution is not the percent it should be.  Mistakes are made.

I also wipe clean all my eggs with rubbing alcohol and let them air dry for 3 minutes (because it takes this amount of time for rubbing alcohol to evaporate after it kills the bacteria) before breaking them open to let out the egg.  The salmonella will be on the eggshell, not in the egg.  These are simple precautionary measures that I have learned to take for myself.

I do not eat a hot dog unless I cook it.  I do not eat chicken unless I cook it, or I am certain it was cooked by someone I know, who understands how to properly cook it without fear of bacteria from the chicken still being in it, and cooked long enough, and hot enough that all the bacteria, that might have been in there is dead.

Fruits and Vegetables

Fruits and Vegetables Are Picked From the Live Plants They Grow On

And I would never eat chicken from a certain fast food restaurant that shall remain nameless, unless they have changed their standards of transporting all their meat unfrozen.  I guess in my many travels I have been sick too many times from food improperly cooked by others like restaurants and do not want to be sick again so I take precautions on how to avoid it.

Birds carry so many diseases that if I had to kill a chicken and pluck it myself these days to cook it, I would not do it.

We have a neighbor here on the dock who says to me, when he is here, that I could probably just paint the dock white because I am out there hosing all the bird doo doo off of our dock.  I explained to him, that it is not the color.  It is what is in the bird caca. 

See the things I learned in my life?  They make me crazy with the knowledge of bacteria and viruses all surrounding us in everyday life.  But I am getting a handle on it these days.  At least I will touch doors and banisters now…ha ha.

Milk Products

Milk Products

When my husband took me on my first cruise to the Bahamas, he started calling me Monk-Ella because I would not touch the elevator buttons or the banister on the stairs.  And if you knew how many times I have fallen down because I do not think about where I am putting my feet, it would only make sense to hold the rail. ;-)

Sadly enough, I have heard people joke about the fact that the children of today do not even know where the food in the grocery store comes from.  I know that it is not every child but really, this is not good.

Why are we not teaching them about their independent survival?  If they were, God forbid, all alone and had to feed themselves, how would they do it?  If a child does not even know where their food comes from or that it is grown and it takes times to grow, what would they eat until some grew?  And how would they grow it?

What would they eat if they walked through the woods alone and did not know what was poison and what was not?

About The Milk

A non-political website has been established to educate the public about a very important issue to our health: the issue of high-quality, raw dairy. 


milk being poured into a glass

I Got Milk

“Preserving the people’s right to choose the healthy foods they want, through education and activism.”

Dr. Aajonus Vonderplanitz, Ph.D. Nutritional Scientist/Author/Lecturer

Sincerely, Mother

Physiologist, Scientist, Author

ShopMotherEarth.com

mother@shopmotherearth.com

p.s….Even the politicians are getting into the raw milk issue during this 2012 election year.  

A Political Message on the Issue of Whether We Should Be Allowed to Make Up Our Own Minds About “Whether We Get To Drink Raw Milk Or Not???”

This is just the first ad I have seen about Raw Milk:

A political Message on the Issue of Whether we should be allowed to make up our own minds about whether we get to drink raw milk or not make up our own minds about whether we get to drink raw milk or not

A political Message on the Issue of Whether “WE” should be allowed to make up our own minds about whether we get to drink raw milk or not

About Mother

Mother is someone who has always looked for a second way to fix a health problem mostly because she started out by being allergic to most medications. She had to find herbal remedies for even the most common ailments, and in the process she became educated with a B.S. in Physiology and another degree in Molecular Biology. For a time Mother worked in the field of Molecular Epidemiology in Virology, on viruses and bacteria. Mother also later became ill with a very rare illness called Histiocytosis X. Mother is one of the very lucky ones who lived. She has proceeded to continue to learn all that she can about this illness in case there is any way she could be of help to others with this disease so that they too can survive. Mother is intent on helping those who want to learn about herbs and natural remedies for what ails them.
This entry was posted in Health, Homeopathy, Natural Home Remedies and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to In My Food?

  1. running says:

    I blog frequently and I genuinely appreciate your
    information. This article has truly peaked my interest.
    I’m going to bookmark your site and keep checking
    for new details about once per week. I subscribed to your RSS feed too.

Leave a Reply...Mother likes to hear from you.

